Main Content

Natural gas – the environmentally friendly energy

One of the biggest environmental problems in Switzerland is air pollution. Air pollutants not only damage health and the environment where they are emitted, but also dozens or even thousands of kilometres away.

In Switzerland, the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment, Forestry and Countryside (BAFU) monitors environmental development and adverse effects on the environment, enacts laws and regulations, and also enforces them.

Natural gas makes a positive contribution to conserving the environment thanks to its simple chemical structure and low emissions.

Particulates – natural gas produces five times fewer particulates than heating oil and 100 times fewer than wood

Particulates alerts are issued on a regular basis due to heavy traffic, heating systems and high fog layers. Particulates cause breathing difficulties or even serious lung diseases for many people. Natural gas vehicles are a quick, readily effective measure to combat particulates in road traffic and reduce CO2 emissions. Unlike petrol and diesel vehicles, they produce virtually no soot or other particulates.

A study by the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (BAFU, formerly BUWAL) also clearly reveals that using natural gas for heating can reduce environmental pollution by half. Natural gas offers decisive advantages over wood with regard to particulates thanks to soot-free combustion.

Particulate pollution levels at: 

CO2

Of all fossil fuels, natural gas contains the least carbon (C) and the largest proportion of hydrogen (H). If we take the same energy content, 25 per cent less carbon dioxide (CO2) is released during natural gas combustion than heating oil combustion.

As we all know today, CO2 has a considerable impact on the warming of the Earth’s atmosphere. Using natural gas instead of other fossil fuels helps to minimise the impact of CO2 on the atmosphere, thus also helping to mitigate the greenhouse effect. This also applies if the low methane losses from natural gas pipelines are taken into account. In Switzerland, these losses account for a few tenths of a per cent of countrywide natural gas distribution. If we add up all emissions from greenhouse gases throughout the entire natural gas and heating oil supply chain and then convert them to determine their greenhouse effect, natural gas performs about 25 per cent better than heating oil. The balance is even better for new pipelines and high-pressure pipelines.

Replacing oil heating systems with natural gas ones has made the greatest contribution to reducing CO2 emissions in Switzerland for years.

 

Release of carbon dioxide (CO2) and methane (CH4) when using fossil fuels
Environmental pollution from using natural gas instead of EL fuel oil or eco-oil

Hauptinhalt

Erdgas - Die umweltfreundliche Energie

Eines der grössten Umweltprobleme in der Schweiz ist die Luftverschmutzung. Luftschadstoffe schädigen Umwelt und Gesundheit nicht nur am Ort ihres Ausstosses, sondern oft auch dutzende oder gar tausende von Kilometern entfernt.

Das Bundesamt für Umwelt, Wald und Landschaft (BAFU) überwacht in der Schweiz in Zusammenarbeit mit den Kantonen Entwicklung und Beeinträchtigung der Umwelt, erlässt Gesetze und Vorschriften und setzt diese auch durch.

Durch seine einfache chemische Struktur und die geringen Emissionen leistet Erdgas einen aktiven Beitrag zur Schonung der Umwelt.

Feinstaub - Erdgas verursacht 5x weniger Feinstaub als Heizöl und 100x weniger als Holz

Regelmässig führen der Strassenverkehr, Heizungen und Hochnebel-Lagen zum Feinstaub-Alarm. Feinstaub bewirkt bei vielen Menschen Atembeschwerden oder gar schwere Lungenerkrankungen. Eine schnell und jederzeit wirksame Massnahme gegen den Feinstaub im Strassenverkehr wie auch zur Reduktion der CO2-Belastung sind Erdgas-Fahrzeuge. Im Vergleich zu den mit Benzin und Diesel betriebenen Fahrzeugen produzieren sie praktisch keinen Russ und anderen Feinstaub.

Eine Studie des Bundesamts für Umwelt (BAFU, ehemals BUWAL) belegt zudem ganz klar, dass die Umweltbelastung durch den Einsatz von Erdgas zum Heizen bis zur Hälfte reduziert werden kann. Besonders bezüglich des Feinstaubs hat Erdgas im Vergleich zu Holz durch die russfreie Verbrennung markante Vorteile.

Feinstaubbelastungswerte unter:

CO2

Erdgas hat von allen fossilen Energien den geringsten Gehalt an Kohlenstoff (C) und den höchsten Anteil an Wasserstoff (H). Bezogen auf den gleichen Energiegehalt werden bei der Verbrennung von Erdgas rund 25 Prozent weniger Kohlendioxid (CO2) freisetzt als bei der Verbrennung von Heizöl.

CO2 hat nach den heutigen Erkenntnissen einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Erwärmung der Erdatmosphäre. Der Einsatz von Erdgas anstelle anderer fossiler Energien trägt zur Entlastung der Atmosphäre von CO2 und damit zur Milderung des Treibhauseffekts bei. Das gilt auch unter Berücksichtigung der geringen Methanverluste aus Erdgas-Leitungen, die in der Schweiz wenige Promille des landesweiten Erdgas-Absatzes ausmachen. Werden alle Emissionen von treibhauswirksamen Gasen auf der gesamten Versorgungskette von Erdgas und Heizöl zusammengezählt und auf die Treibhauswirksamkeit umgerechnet, schneidet Erdgas rund 25 Prozent besser ab als Heizöl. Für neue Leitungen oder Hochdruckleitungen sieht die Bilanz noch besser aus.

Die Substitution von Ölheizungen mit Erdgas-Heizungen leistet in der Schweiz seit Jahren den grössten Beitrag zur Reduktion von CO2.

Freisetzung von Kohlendioxid (CO2) und Methan (CH4) bei der Nutzung fossiler Energieträger
Umweltentlastung durch Erdgas-Einsatz anstelle von Heizöl EL bzw. Oeko-Oel