Main Content

Natural gas is safe

Periodical control measurements on cathodic protection

Unlike town gas, natural gas is not toxic and is inherently odourless. An odorant is added to natural gas, giving natural gas its distinctive smell and enabling people to detect gas leaks immediately. Natural gas is lighter than air, so it volatises quickly. Natural gas can only be ignited if gas is mixed with air in the right proportion (5–15%) and the source of ignition reaches a temperature of around 650 degrees. 

Only specially trained gas technicians may work on natural gas equipment and install gas appliances. Strict laws, regulations and technical guidelines regulate gas pipeline and auxiliary plant construction and operation.

Inspecting insulation on a high-pressure natural gas pipeline

Monitored by federal authorities

There are strict regulations for building and operating the high-pressure natural gas network, in-line tanks and spherical gas tanks. Natural gas companies are required to continually monitor all equipment and systems, inspecting them on a regular basis and submitting a report to the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment and the Swiss Federal Pipelines Inspectorate.

Hauptinhalt

Erdgas ist sicher

Periodische Kontrollmessungen für den kathodischen Schutz

Erdgas ist im Gegensatz zum früheren Stadtgas nicht giftig. Es ist von Natur aus geruchlos. Damit austretendes Gas sofort von jedermann wahrgenommen wird, wird es künstlich mit dem typischen Gasgeruch odoriert. Erdgas ist leichter als Luft und verflüchtigt sich deshalb schnell. Erdgas ist nur in der richtigen Mischung mit Luft (Erdgas-Anteil 5-15%) und mit einer Zündquelle mit einer Temperatur von ca. 650 Grad zündbar.   

Arbeiten an Erdgas-Einrichtungen und Installationen von Gasapparaten dürfen nur von gastechnisch geschulten Fachleuten ausgeführt werden. Bau und Betrieb von Gasleitungen und Nebenanlagen sind durch strenge Gesetze, Verordnungen und technische Richtlinien geregelt.

Kontrolle der Isolation der Erdgas-Hochdruckleitung vor dem Einbau
Von den Bundesbehörden überwacht

Für den Bau und Betrieb des Erdgas-Hochdrucknetzes sowie von Röhren- und Kugelspeichern bestehen in der Schweiz strenge Vorschriften. Die Erdgas-Unternehmen müssen alle Einrichtungen laufend überwachen und regelmässig kontrollieren und darüber dem Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) sowie dem Eidgenössisches Rohrleitungsinspektorat (ERI) Rechenschaft ablegen.