Main Content

Looking back on history

Schlieren gasworks

The history of the Schlieren gasworks started back in the 19th century.

In the 1890s, there was a rapid increase in the demand for gas from the people of Zurich as gas began to replace oil for lighting purposes. The first plant to produce gas from wood in the Platzspitz park quickly became inadequate, also because gas was now being increasingly used to generate heat. As a result, the city started to relocate the whole complex to nearby Schlieren in 1893.

Workforce at the inauguration in Schlieren in 1898
Gasworks about 1908


Over the next few decades, gas production needed to be modified on several occasions. The two world wars led to difficulties in the supply of bituminous coal. Consequently, gas was produced using peat from Entlebuch in the canton of Lucerne or wood conversion with both processes being laborious and uneconomical. Gas consumption even needed to be rationed during the Second World War, and 187 employees were laid off. The shift from coal to natural gas imports began in 1972 with the coking plant finally ceasing operation in 1974.

Schlieren gasworks in 1949

Built in 1897, the Schlieren gasworks today serves as a fitting testament to the city of Zurich’s industrial heritage and social history. The construction of the gasworks is directly related to the incorporation of the town in 1893 and to the general economic development of the city of Zurich in the period between the turn of the century and the First World War.

Gasverbund Ostschweiz AG

With its headquarters in Zurich, Gasverbund Ostschweiz AG (GVO) was founded on 31 January 1966. The aim was to merge municipal and private gasworks into a single entity to expand sales of detoxified gas using high-quality, streamlined production and distribution systems and ensure that partners received the greatest reliability possible for supplies.

Spherical gas tank construction in 1969
Petroleum oil cracking plant, in operation 1969–1975


In 1969, GVO put a modern cracking plant into operation to supply its 12 partners via a grid gas pipeline network over 200 km long. This plant was used to generate detoxified gas with the same calorific value in addition to producing coal gas. The control centre was installed in the machine room, also newly constructed at the same time, and where the entire grid could be automatically remote-controlled and monitored. The entire gas distribution installations for GVO and Zurich’s gas supply were also re-designed.

GVO and its partners were integrated into the European natural gas network when the natural gas transit pipeline between the Netherlands and Italy was built across Switzerland. The switchover to natural gas took place between 1972 and 1974, with the last coal gas chamber in the coke oven plant closing on 6 May 1974 and Zurich’s coking plant in Schlieren ceasing operations as a result. This memorable event marked the end of an era of gas production from coal in Schlieren.

View of the GVO control centre

Erdgas Ostschweiz AG

In November 1992, the partners reached a new shareholders’ agreement and also approved a general revised version of the articles of association. In addition to a new governance model, fundamental decisions were also reached regarding pricing and the company’s purpose.

The new trade name was also intended to highlight the new direction in strategy and establish a new outward image. Gasverbund Ostschweiz AG became Erdgas Ostschweiz AG. The name change was decided at an extraordinary general meeting in Winterthur on 18 November 1993.

Today, Erdgas Ostschweiz AG is one of the four regional gas companies in Switzerland and supplies gas to its associated local suppliers in eastern Switzerland. It transports around a third of the natural gas consumed in Switzerland.

The company entered a new era in its history on 1 October 2014 when it founded its subsidiary Open Energy Platform AG . The new organisational structure is largely geared towards changed market requirements, offering a solid basis for further strategic development.

Hauptinhalt

Geschichtlicher Rückblick

Schlieremer Gaswerkareal

Die Geschichte des Schlieremer Gaswerkareals nahm im 19. Jahrhundert seinen Anfang.

In den 1890er-Jahren begann der Bedarf der Stadtzürcher an Gas, das die bis dahin übliche Ölbeleuchtung ablöste, rapide zu steigen. Die erste Anlage zur Gasgewinnung aus Holz auf dem Platzspitz wurde bald zu klein – auch weil Gas nun vermehrt zur Wärmeproduktion verwendet wurde –, und so begann 1893 die Verlegung des gesamten Komplexes nach Schlieren.

Belegschaft bei der Eröffnung in Schlieren 1898
Gaswerk um ca. 1908


In den nächsten Jahrzehnten musste die Gasproduktion verschiedentlich umgestellt werden. Die beiden Weltkriege führten immer wieder zu Lieferschwierigkeiten von Steinkohle, und so wurde Gas aus Torf aus dem Entlebuch oder durch Holzveredelung gewonnen; beides aufwendige, unwirtschaftliche Verfahren. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg musste der Gaskonsum sogar rationalisiert werden und es kam zu 187 Entlassungen im Gaswerk. Ab 1972 wurde von Kohle auf Erdgasimport umgestellt und 1974 die Gaskokserei schliesslich ganz eingestellt.

Gaswerk Schlieren 1949

Das 1897 erbaute Gaswerk Schlieren ist heute ein wichtiger industrieller und sozialhistorischer Zeuge der Zürcher Stadtgeschichte. Der Bau des Gaswerks steht in direktem Zusammenhang mit der Eingemeindung von 1893 sowie mit der allgemeinen wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung der Stadt Zürich von der Zeit des «Fin de Siècle» bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg.

Gasverbund Ostschweiz AG

Am 31. Januar 1966 wurde die Gasverbund Ostschweiz AG (GVO) mit Sitz in Zürich gegründet. Zweck war, durch Zusammenschluss kommunaler und privater Gaswerke den Absatz von entgiftetem Gas durch rationellere und qualitativ hochstehende Produktion und Verteilung zu erweitern und den Partnern die bestmögliche Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten.

Bau der Kugelspeicher im Jahre 1969
Leichtbenzin-Spaltanlage, 1969–1975 in Betrieb


Zur Versorgung ihrer zwölf Partner nahm die GVO im Jahre 1969 über ein Ferngasleitungsnetz von über 200 km eine moderne Spaltanlage in Betrieb. Damit wurde, zusätzlich zur Kohlengasproduktion, entgiftetes Gas mit gleichem Heizwert hergestellt. Im gleichzeitig neu erstellten Maschinenraum wurde die Kommandozentrale eingebaut, von der aus das ganze Verbundnetz automatisch ferngesteuert und überwacht werden konnte. Ebenfalls konzipierte man die ganzen Gasverteilanlagen für die Gasversorgung Zürich und den GVO neu.

Mit dem Bau der Erdgastransitleitung Niederlande‒Italien durch die Schweiz schloss sich der GVO mit seinen Partnern ans europäische Erdgasnetz an. Die Umstellung auf Erdgas erfolgte von 1972 bis 1974, sodass am 6. Mai 1974 die letzte Kohlengaskammer der Ofenanlage geschlossen und somit die Gaskokerei der Stadt Zürich in Schlieren stillgelegt wurde. Mit diesem denkwürdigen Ereignis fand die Periode der Gaserzeugung aus Kohle in Schlieren ihr Ende.

Blick in die Kommandozentrale der GVO
Erdgas Ostschweiz AG

Im November 1992 einigten sich die Partner zu einem neuen Aktionärsbindungsvertrag und genehmigten gleichzeitig eine generelle Statutenrevision. Neben einem neuen Organisationsreglement wurden grundsätzliche Entscheidungen über Preisgestaltung und Zweck der Gesellschaft gefällt.

Mit einer neuen Firmenbezeichnung sollte die strategische Neuausrichtung unterzeichnet werden und mit einem neuen Auftritt nach aussen getragen werden. Aus Gasverbund Ostschweiz AG wurde Erdgas Ostschweiz AG. Die Namensänderung wurde an der ausserordentlichen Generalversammlung vom 18. November 1993 in Winterthur beschlossen.

Die Erdgas Ostschweiz AG zählt heute zu den vier Regionalgesellschaften der Schweiz und beliefert die ihr angeschlossenen Lokalversorger in der Ostschweiz mit Erdgas. Sie transportiert rund ein Drittel des in der Schweiz verbrauchten Erdgases.

Am 1. Oktober 2014 hat das Unternehmen ein neues Kapitel in der Unternehmensgeschichte aufgeschlagen und die Tochtergesellschaft Open Energy Platform AG gegründet. Die neue Organisationsstruktur richtet sich in hohem Masse nach den geänderten Marktanforderungen und bietet eine gute Ausgangsbasis für die strategische Weiterentwicklung.